E90Post
 


Extreme Powerhouse
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > Transmission remap - Let's do it ourselves



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-30-2016, 12:43 PM   #793
Mik325tds
Major
Mik325tds's Avatar
United_States
808
Rep
1,192
Posts

Drives: 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greater Detroit

iTrader: (0)

Yes, it is my work laptop (and CANcase) and yes, Vector has figured out a way how to suck a lot of money from the automotive industry. But their tools are prestine.
So, in order to get everyone on board: The CAN bus connects all ECUs in the car that need to interchange information on a regular basis. It is a broadcasting system where every ECU has one or more messages to broadcast it's signals in. Every message has an ID - the lower the ID number, the more important that message is. Which means that the lower ID would win if two ECUs would attempt to broadcast at the same time. The payload of each message is up to 8 bytes (1 byte = 2 hex numbers (0-F)).
Up to now I was only able to capture raw bus data as in the screenshot below. The problem was to interpret the data (what do the numbers mean and who is sending the data). Yesterday, I found a can data base that seem to match my trace. The database (.dbc file) defines the message name of each ID and how many signals are in there.

More later...
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 2
      03-30-2016, 05:57 PM   #794
Mik325tds
Major
Mik325tds's Avatar
United_States
808
Rep
1,192
Posts

Drives: 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greater Detroit

iTrader: (0)

I think I captured the most important signals we'll need to play with in the gateway. CAN ID 0xAA (0x indicating it is hex) contains the accelerator pedal signal (ANG_ACPD = Angle Accelerator Pedal), it is in byte 4 of the 0xAA message. At timestamp 148.9 in my trace it was 0x20. The database defines that it has to be converted to decimal and multiplied by 0.39063 in order to convert it to 12.5002%. CANoe does that automatically in the background for you. Nice, huh?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 1
      03-30-2016, 06:06 PM   #795
ChrizLoud
F11 520D LCI - Stage I
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
46
Rep
187
Posts

Drives: F11 520D LCI - Stage I
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

I like were this is going!
Keep it up!!!☺️👍
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2016, 06:07 PM   #796
Mik325tds
Major
Mik325tds's Avatar
United_States
808
Rep
1,192
Posts

Drives: 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greater Detroit

iTrader: (0)

I think @DWR is right, that the engine rpm (RPM_ENG) is a CAN input to the EGS (TCU), so seems to be the torque driver choice (TORQ_DVCH) as they are all contained in the same 0xAA Torque3 message. With that we now have a handle on all input variables to influence on how the TCU moves through the shift tables.
Also, with ST_GR_GRB (contained in message 0xBA Getriebedaten, second nibble of the first byte) we know which gear the transmission is in and can potentially adjust our tampering strategy based on gears. I'm thinking of reducing the throttle input by 20% in the first two gears and then slowly fading it out to 0% reduction in the upper gears.

Last edited by Mik325tds; 03-30-2016 at 06:13 PM..
Appreciate 1
      03-30-2016, 06:49 PM   #797
rjahl
Colonel
rjahl's Avatar
1002
Rep
2,287
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 Z4 35is  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mik325tds View Post
I think @DWR is right, that the engine rpm (RPM_ENG) is a CAN input to the EGS (TCU), so seems to be the torque driver choice (TORQ_DVCH) as they are all contained in the same 0xAA Torque3 message. With that we now have a handle on all input variables to influence on how the TCU moves through the shift tables.
Also, with ST_GR_GRB (contained in message 0xBA Getriebedaten, second nibble of the first byte) we know which gear the transmission is in and can potentially adjust our tampering strategy based on gears. I'm thinking of reducing the throttle input by 20% in the first two gears and then slowly fading it out to 0% reduction in the upper gears.
Man, you are on a roll now.

I'd like to add that any limitation to the torque reduction request protocol could be improved if it could distinguish between an up-shift and downshift. I have essentially disabled this request on my DME and the downshifts are just a little rough, not bad but could be better.

I think if you can keep the maps translations flexible/programmable, you will have other cars wanting to use this as well. 335 and N52s could both use some transmission assistance.

How are you setting for the hardware and programming? Any ideas?
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2016, 07:28 PM   #798
Mik325tds
Major
Mik325tds's Avatar
United_States
808
Rep
1,192
Posts

Drives: 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greater Detroit

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjahl View Post
Man, you are on a roll now.

I'd like to add that any limitation to the torque reduction request protocol could be improved if it could distinguish between an up-shift and downshift. I have essentially disabled this request on my DME and the downshifts are just a little rough, not bad but could be better.

I think if you can keep the maps translations flexible/programmable, you will have other cars wanting to use this as well. 335 and N52s could both use some transmission assistance.

How are you setting for the hardware and programming? Any ideas?
One step after the next, my friend. Getting rid of the torque reduction request from the EGS is definitely worthwhile.
HW wise I'll need some help from friends. The micro will need to be pretty potent as it will need to relay as many as 57 messages to the EGS and 9 messages from the EGS. I also saw a CRC on the Torque3 message, so we'll need to compute that on the fly. Luckily, I also saw some lookup tables for those as well . I'm thinking of a V850 family candidate as we use those at work a lot - what do you think?
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2016, 09:15 PM   #799
rjahl
Colonel
rjahl's Avatar
1002
Rep
2,287
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 Z4 35is  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mik325tds View Post
One step after the next, my friend. Getting rid of the torque reduction request from the EGS is definitely worthwhile.
HW wise I'll need some help from friends. The micro will need to be pretty potent as it will need to relay as many as 57 messages to the EGS and 9 messages from the EGS. I also saw a CRC on the Torque3 message, so we'll need to compute that on the fly. Luckily, I also saw some lookup tables for those as well . I'm thinking of a V850 family candidate as we use those at work a lot - what do you think?
Ok, Just a little excited for you guys. You have been working on this for such a long time and it seems like you finally have a direction with real promise.

Like you, I often rely on friends. I happen to have one that went to school to study these things. I bounced the Can intercept/ interface idea off of him before posting my original message and he was full of ideas. He drives a Diesel VW with a torque limited DSG gearbox and has a vested interest. He had picked out a few micro devices for this project and was ready to order samples last week. There is a chance we can get him to build a prototype board using free chip samples available to him. Might cost me a case of beer or a bottle of wine for his lovely wife. He can't program for beans so someone else would need to pick up that end.

Somehow, I think you are way past this type of amateur support. It's offered anyways.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2016, 10:15 PM   #800
DWR
Banned
799
Rep
1,630
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Well, I obviously like the idea.

My concern is the signals that are directly feed to the TCU from sensors within transmission. I believe shift points are based on output shaft speed signal, with ABS wheels sensors as a backup.
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2016, 06:50 AM   #801
Mik325tds
Major
Mik325tds's Avatar
United_States
808
Rep
1,192
Posts

Drives: 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greater Detroit

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWR View Post
Well, I obviously like the idea.

My concern is the signals that are directly feed to the TCU from sensors within transmission. I believe shift points are based on output shaft speed signal, with ABS wheels sensors as a backup.
Ah, yes. I think you're right again. That is something we have concluded early on. Boy, this thread has been going on too long. I'm starting to forget what we did a year ago...
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2016, 10:40 AM   #802
shnaggs
Lieutenant
76
Rep
459
Posts

Drives: TDi
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NE, Pa

iTrader: (1)

Keep up the good work everyone, we are all rooting for you!!!
Appreciate 1
      03-31-2016, 02:49 PM   #803
TheBoar
Private
9
Rep
61
Posts

Drives: 2011 Jet Black 335d
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Wow guys. Magnificent work everyone. I wish I was smarter with this kind of work to help out. Keep it up!
Appreciate 1
      04-01-2016, 01:12 AM   #804
ddillenger
New Member
23
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: Range Rover SC
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

If you get rid of that torque reduction request without disabling it (IE, you're intercepting it with an external box) you're going to hit limp pretty quickly I'm afraid.
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2016, 04:19 AM   #805
rjahl
Colonel
rjahl's Avatar
1002
Rep
2,287
Posts

Drives: Z4 35is
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 Z4 35is  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddillenger
If you get rid of that torque reduction request without disabling it (IE, you're intercepting it with an external box) you're going to hit limp pretty quickly I'm afraid.
Please explain why.
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2016, 03:01 PM   #806
DWR
Banned
799
Rep
1,630
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddillenger View Post
If you get rid of that torque reduction request without disabling it (IE, you're intercepting it with an external box) you're going to hit limp pretty quickly I'm afraid.
After an adaption reset, what plausibilty limit would be triggered?
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2016, 06:16 PM   #807
DWR
Banned
799
Rep
1,630
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Further investigation shows why we cannot easily use a Ford TCU.
Here's the connector pinout. Notice the Ford has a different control strategy, with control of transmission solenoids from the Powertrain Control Module (PCM).
Name:  Picture1.png
Views: 1487
Size:  88.0 KB
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2016, 02:28 AM   #808
Whitbread
Banned
144
Rep
315
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gaylord, MI

iTrader: (0)

Well crap. That shoots down what was once a fairly plausible idea. A Kevlar twin disc in front of a tremec is almost looking easier than cracking this German enigma software.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2016, 07:59 AM   #809
DWR
Banned
799
Rep
1,630
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitbread View Post
Well crap. That shoots down what was once a fairly plausible idea. A Kevlar twin disc in front of a tremec is almost looking easier than cracking this German enigma software.
Yes, I agree. I've done an adapter or two on a bridgeport before. Wasn't that hard, but I did have a spare tranny to fit up to. Hydraulic throwouts also simplify the task.

Is the new shop up and ready for a project like this?
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2016, 08:34 PM   #810
Whitbread
Banned
144
Rep
315
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gaylord, MI

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWR View Post
Yes, I agree. I've done an adapter or two on a bridgeport before. Wasn't that hard, but I did have a spare tranny to fit up to. Hydraulic throwouts also simplify the task.

Is the new shop up and ready for a project like this?
Frankenstein's lab is nearly complete . Hoping to be fully open by the Monday 11th.


Last edited by Whitbread; 04-03-2016 at 02:34 AM..
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2016, 09:01 PM   #811
Mik325tds
Major
Mik325tds's Avatar
United_States
808
Rep
1,192
Posts

Drives: 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greater Detroit

iTrader: (0)

Wow. That looks awfully nice. No lift yet?
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2016, 09:19 PM   #812
Whitbread
Banned
144
Rep
315
Posts

Drives: 335D
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Gaylord, MI

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mik325tds View Post
Wow. That looks awfully nice. No lift yet?
Hoist was behind me to me to left when I took that pic . It's anchored now, this pic was last week.


Last edited by Whitbread; 04-02-2016 at 09:36 PM..
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2016, 09:32 PM   #813
DWR
Banned
799
Rep
1,630
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

If I remember correctly, the outside view wasn't too bad either.
Good for you, man.
Appreciate 1
      04-03-2016, 12:30 AM   #814
ddillenger
New Member
23
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: Range Rover SC
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjahl View Post
Please explain why.
I ran into this problem in the range rover. After every shift over said limit=limp.

You'd have to scale down the torque input to the trans, and that can be done in the ecu, however that's also going to alter line pressure, converter clutch engagement, etc.
Appreciate 1
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST