E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Best version/update of MHD?

09-16-2024, 04:01 PM   #1
stuartbrown.e90
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2009 BMW 335xi

Best version/update of MHD?

So next week I will be installing the VRSF catless downpipes onto my n54 and tuning it to stage 2+. I currently have the intakes, charge pipe, and 5.5” intercooler on the MHD stage 1+. I will also be putting in new plugs and coils before the downpipes just to be safe. I had noticed random misfires using the v9 map from MHD. Does anyone know the best version to use or has had luck with one over the other?
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2024, 09:15 PM   #2
acidbbg
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 335i vert

I’m new to the BMW scene but have worked on turbo cars over 20 years. Direct injection turbo cars for over 15 years.

About the version of map for MHD make sure you select the newest version and select the correct octane and stage for the map to match your car.

As power levels goes up weak links start to appear. Adding more power mods will increase boost, timing, power causing those weak links to appear more frequently.

I would hold up on adding more mods until you address the cylinder miss firing issue.

good on you to swap out the spark plugs and coil packs. If you are any good with a wrench swap the spark plug and coil (from cylinder that’s misfiring) with one that not and see if the issue follows. If the miss fires still happening on the same cylinder then it’s unlikely the plug and coil are causing the problem. After that it’s likely to be one of 2 thing. Clogged/leaky injector or carbon build up on intake valves due to car being GDI. You may need to do walnut blasting.